Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    BillJ is offline Senior Member

Default Publisher to Illustrator

Our house artist who has very little training is having an issue importing Publisher files into Illustrator. When she imports them, the text comes up as rectangles. the photos seem to import without problem. Te person who created them has passed away so i don't know exactly how they were created. The only solution I have found online is Pub2Id, but it is expensive and for the few times we have to deal with this management won't pay for it.

I'm an Rip and equipment guy so I'm not an expert on this. Any help would be appreciated.

davidmwe is offline Member

Default Publisher to InDesign converter

How about Publisher to InDesign?

I do not know of any Publisher to Illustrator converters, but we, Markzware, have a Publisher to InDesign conversion tool which may assist you?
    See:
    Markzware PUB2ID v3 (Convert Publisher to InDesign) Product Page

Friendly Regards,
    David Dilling
    Markzware (makers of PUB2ID)

DCurry is offline Senior Member

Your best bet if you don't want to buy a plugin is to get the Publisher file into an intermediate format that Illustrator can read. You will still likely have text problems, though.

For example, if you can make a PDF from the Publisher file, you would be able to open it in Illustrator. If the fonts are embedded in the PDF and active on the computer you are using Illustrator on, you might get lucky and everything will look fine. If there are heavy text edits to be done, it may be problematic because the text will no longer be words and paragraphs but just collections of letters.

Maybe you can find someone who has the plugin and pay for them to convert the art for you. At $199 for the plugin, though, it could pay for itself in just a few uses.

Another thought - if you do not need to edit, you could just place the aforementioned PDF as a linked graphic.

Lukas Engqvist is offline Senior Member