Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    xMattx is offline Junior Member

Default CMYK to Pantone converter

Hello everyone,

I stumbled upon your old forum when i searched for a CMYK to Pantone converter on google. I've read a bit about projects from people who made software to convert CMYK colours to Pantone colours. It got me really interested, but the forum is closed by now and the users have moved over to this one.. I can't find the topics anymore though, although there are a lot of other topics about the same subject over here. There are in fact so many different topics that i don't know where to look anymore. that's why i made this topic. (I hope that i'm posting it in the right section, and that it is not asked 100 times already.. =$)

What i'm looking for is a way to convert the screen colours (CMYK) to print colours (Pantone). I'm totally new to this whole Pantone thing, so i don't know if this is the right thing and if it even excists.. I'm a starting graphic designer and i've designed a few things for websites. But there are customers who ask for printable designs. So i asked around and some people told me that i needed to buy a Pantone colour fan since the screen colours are different from the printed colours. But I can't really afford a fan like that, so i'm looking for software that does the same.

I'd be very happy if anyone could help me with this. Is there any software that can help me with this?

Thank you very much,
    Matt

oxburger is offline Senior Member

Default Re: CMYK to Pantone converter

Unless they specifically ask for spot colors, I'd make everything process (CMYK). Then it's a simple RGB to CMYK conversion. Make sure your images are of high enough resolution to print (I'd suggest 300 dpi or so), otherwise, the colors may be right, but your images will look like hell.