Xerox, Canon and Konica

alvin_cgi

Hi all,

I am planning to start a small to mid size copy/print center, I am new to this but do have graphic design background, so operating printer, shouldn't be a issue, but much technical knowledge, need a reliable machine.

So... To start from home or to retail shop? I got advices that more customers are dealing through web and email, walk in customer are not that importance anymore? I thought retail are more convincing than home base...

I would like to do bis card, booklet, flyer, brochure, VDP, photo album and etc, I mean more specialized products.

Have spoke to Xerox, Konica and Canon, now preparing print samples to test, wondering what to ask and need attention, (i.e. registration, colour consistency and etc) instead of just nice printing samples(they always print out nice samples from show room don't they!).
I will lease the second hand machine to start. Here are options I have:

1) Konica
KM C500
The cheapest one to lease, not much info on this one, does 600dpi... (does dpi really matter?), The sale told me the c5501 is another choice, (3x more expansive) better quality and faster, good quality on textured paper, c500 can also do it but little less quality.
I see people are going to 6501, and others sales told me that c500 is obsolete now, cost to print (click charges) are highest compared to Xerox and Canon.

2) Canon
Image Press C1
Great print quality but old and very slow, a bit more expansive than KM C500. Cost to print in between Xerox and KM.
The sale introduce a new IR ADV C9000 Pro, nice print quality and fast speed, lease price is 3x more than C1. (I been told that canon have huge problem print on textured paper).

3)Xerox
DocuColor 5065 II