postcard & doorhanger machine - 100lb cover

tulsadir

Hello Experts,

I am a direct mail guy, never done any printing.

We want to start printing our shorter run postcard jobs with a digital press.

Here are my priorities:

1. handle 10pt / 100lb cover / 270 gsm (c2s)..auto duplex
(we would print postcards almost exclusively on the machine..100lb cover only)

2. printing 4up, full color 2 sides full bleed (5.5x8.5 postcards)

3. 100k-200k / month impressions

i have looked into xerox 700, refurbed 5000ap. been offered great deal on the 5000ap.

What should i consider for the above specs?

thanks for you kind input...tk

270 gsm postcards

270 gsm postcards

I'm not an expert. I'm a graphics guy who has been running a c900 for a year and half. So all my print experience is on this machine, but here's what we've been doing as it sounds similiar to what you're looking to do.

We run 3-up 6x11 postcards on 12x18 (270 gsm) duplexed. Full color both sides and about 95% ink coverage on the front side (heavy ink on the front). We typically don't go over 200k impressions per month. We have been doing this on a Ricoh c900 for over a year now which the c900 is not set to run over 220 gsm duplexed but we have been doing it anyway.

We are getting ready to add in a c901 which is oil-less and does have the duplex setting for papers over 220 gsm. Once we are satisfied with how that prints, we are going to start running variable data. Got any questions, just hollar at me.

You may want to check out other threads. Postcards from a digital printer have been giving others headaches with ink smearing if the stock gets damp in the weather. Also smears or flakes off when going through postal machinery.

Uv coater

Uv coater

I hear ya, PossumGal. We run ours through a UV Coater on the front side, makes them more durable.

Hello Experts,

I am a direct mail guy, never done any printing.

We want to start printing our shorter run postcard jobs with a digital press.