Carbonless on X700i

Recommend and not being able to run are two different things. I don't see why you'd have any problems running NCR on your machine (disclaimer: I have no experience with xerox machines) In the past NCR loved to jam in digital as its such a lite sheet. This has improved a lot however so shouldn't be any problems there.
That being said, w/e chemicals they use to make NCR work tends to smell funky as it goes through the fuser. While Its not something I'd be worried about, I wouldn't want to be breathing it in a small enclosed environment thought. It never hurts to crack a door or window.

Maybe they are referring to any carbonless. On the digital machines the stock must be made so that the coating does not build up on the drum. Can the machine run it? I'll bet it can. I am not familiar with this one, still old school here, but basically machines are stupid. I'll never forget calling our folder rep, explaining the problem and what we were doing. His response was "the machine can't do that" guess no one told the machine, ran a 3 ply carbonless with a tri fold.

Recommend and not being able to run are two different things.

correct; use it at your own risk. you should have no major issues.

I don't see why you'd have any problems running NCR on your machine (disclaimer: I have no experience with xerox machines) In the past NCR loved to jam in digital as its such a lite sheet. This has improved a lot however so shouldn't be any problems there.

"NCR" and "carbonless" are 2 different things too. The original NCR paper was created for offset printing; digital carbonless paper was created for digital printing.