Intel Mac upgrade

Sheppy

Hello All,
I have been running a Power Mac G5 in our prepress for 6 years now. This machine has been a workhorse and has never given me ONE bit of trouble. Unfortunately our biggest client is upgrading to CS5 in a couple of months so we will have to make the move to an Intel Mac. I was hoping that maybe somone else has made this switch recently as well and I am trying to figure out what software will run on it and what won't. Suitcase X1? Pitstop Pro. 7.22? Quark 7??? Dynastrip 4.2? Any help is greatly appreciated.

We went with iMac 27"

Quark 8
Suitcase Fusion 3
CS5
Pit Stop Pro 8

The only problem we see so far, is the direct printing of PDF files to Xerox 700 is a major problem. The intel Mac and Xerox do not play nice.

We print PDF files from our old Mac.

Intel Mac

Intel Mac

I'm using a 8 core Mac Pro running 10.6.5. I use CS5, Acrobat 9, Prinergy 4.1, Preps 5.3, Pitstop 10, Suitcase Fusion 3, Office 2008 with *no* issues at all.

Went from a G4 to an iMac 24

CS5
Quark 8
Linotype FontXplorer Pro

Everything is good, except some direct printing from acrobat as a previous post mentioned. But we use Odystar, so our PDF's go through a workflow as a general rule. No issues with Pitstop but it is rarely used on the workstation as we have it built in to the workflow also. You will enjoy the better performance with Creative Suite - it is noticeable on the Intel boxes.

Went from G4 to 8-core Mac Pro with 10.5.8.

CS5
Acrobat 8
Quark 7.5
Pistop 7.52
FontXplorer X

Direct print to DocuSP, ECRM RIP, Onyx RIP with no problems.