Help: Color Management Newbie -- The Basics

jpfulton248

I am an absolute newbie when it comes to doing color management the right way. Can anyone suggest a how-to on calibrating monitors with printer? Should our files be Gracol with printer (Fiery) converting to Gracol? Should the printer just use the embedded profile? Do we somehow create a custom icc profile for the printer and only use that? Do we convert our files to that icc profile before sending the job to the fiery? How do monitor profiles fit in with printer profiles? How the hell do we sync two different workstations' monitors?

These are the types of questions I have. It is overwhelming. Can someone suggest a primer? Thanks!

I am an absolute newbie when it comes to doing color management the right way. Can anyone suggest a how-to on calibrating monitors with printer? Should our files be Gracol with printer (Fiery) converting to Gracol? Should the printer just use the embedded profile? Do we somehow create a custom icc profile for the printer and only use that? Do we convert our files to that icc profile before sending the job to the fiery? How do monitor profiles fit in with printer profiles? How the hell do we sync two different workstations' monitors?

These are the types of questions I have. It is overwhelming. Can someone suggest a primer? Thanks!

I feel like I know enough to be dangerous. Like you I feel that it is pretty daunting to fully grasp all the systems and how they work together.

Most importantly you need to calibrate/baseline your printer. This means scanning the CMYK strips. Then you need to profile it, which means scanning hundreds or thousands of color squares, depending on which set you choose in Fiery Color Profiler.

1. calibrating monitors with printer?
2. Should our files be Gracol with printer (Fiery) converting to Gracol?
3. Should the printer just use the embedded profile?
4. Do we somehow create a custom icc profile for the printer and only use that?