no0b question for the experts in color

overtwo

I've been in printing for about 3 years now. I don't know too much about color management but I am doing lots of research on it. I'm working at a company now that lost it's pre-press manager and we now need to calibrate our press/proofers. For whatever reason the boss man wants us to re-calibrate every 6 months. We are now at that point of re-calibrating. This is all new to me since the last shop I worked at was very simple and I figured out (on my own) how to calibrate the HP5500 they had to match the press. It was very straight forward because he had a BestColor XXL RIP hooked up to his HP. That pretty much simplified everything for me, but then again I knew nothing about color management and the color was probably way off since I didn't know about any standards (G7/SWOP). Now I'm playing a whole new ball game here.

So were to begin...

We have the Brisque client, an HP5542, an Approval XP4 and ProfileMaker 5. Right now I am studying GRACoL7 since that is what the pre-press manager set as a standard here. The press' we are trying to color manage are a Heidelberg 6/40 and a Komori 6/28. I have set up 2 layouts for both press'. We will be running uncalibrated plates soon for the first run.

Question 1:
Do I run linearized plates (with an Ex-Curve) when we do the first run? Or don't run linearized plates at all during the calibration process?

Question 2:
How do I go about linearizing our HP5542? Or do I even need to? It has a "Color Curve" applied to it now so I am assuming yes on linearizing it. Or maybe a "Color Curve" is not the same as linearizing?

I'm sorry for the stupid questions and I'm sure there will be plenty more to come as we progress into this fun filled experiment. I thank you all VERY MUCH in advance for any kind of help you can give me.

Re: no0b question for the experts in color

Michael,

No stupid questions.