Fountain solution mix?

Starr19

Hello,

We just went to Fuji Pro T plates and are having some trouble with developing. Can anyone tell me there fountain solution mix, how much alcohol sub they are adding to there water?

(One tech company recommend adding a shot of gum per gallon... not sure if thats the best idea.)

-Thanks

Gary

Re: Fountain solution mix?

Hi there,

Not sure the route your going is the best but only you know your exact situation. Fuji should know of a conductivity and PH at which there plates were designed to run at. You say there having trouble developing the plates, is this to agressive or to weak. I assume to agressive as your asked to drop gum into the fount to help with desensitising the plate?. I have limited experience of alcohol substitutes so i would only offer very poor advice but the problem seems to be with the plates not the fount soloution, as i gain more experience i begin to think that if you optimise for one problem it usually creates another at the oposite end of the spectrum, so deal with the development issue and save yourself bearing the burden later on.

Paul

Thanks for the input...

The plates roll up with lots of scum on the lead edge. The pressmen have to hand wash the plates which is time consuming. Today I watch one pressman do about 200 revolutions, and the plates still had some scumming problems. Im not sure what else can be done except mixing the fountain solution differently. Has anyone had any luck with Fuji Pro T plates and not had to hand wipe them?

thanks,

There is a bad bunch of two part fountain solution going around our area; I will not state the brand here. Your best bet is to contact your Fuji rep and have them come in, review what you are doing and get help that way.