How to make Imposed item same all the way around?

AP90

Ok guys, I'm going to try and explain this the best I can. First off, I'm pretty new to the whole graphic design and digital print world, so sorry if this is a question that is pretty amateur or easy.

Im designing a flyer right now that is a half letter size (4.25x11). Just like any printer, in order to maximize profit, I would like to run these on 11x17 sheets and cut them down. My problem is that 2 of the flyers from each sheet will have white borders on 3 sides and 2 will have top and bottom borders. The client is fine with the white border, so I am wondering how I can make it so that each flyer will have equal white around each one. Am I just going to have to play around with the size of the flyer, is this a bleed or gutter design, or can I do this when imposing (using impose wizard). Or am I going to have to full bleed trim every flyer so there is no white?

Thanks for the help in advance guys.

Personally I would fix the files (your only have 4) to the correct size, trim, and borders. Would take a lot less time than tweaking your imposition, your trim marks will be correct, and should you have to reprint or repurpose these files later you are good to go. IMHO.

It sounds like a couple of these will need bleed. 11x17 is too small to accommodate the bleed running more than one on a sheet.

Is this being run on a production device, or are you trying to output on a laser printer?

Is there a technical reason you're fixed on the 11x17 sheet? If not, I would recommend printing on a 12x18 sheet (a common, standard, and affordable size in the digital world) which would allow for a bleed on all four sides.

One side note -- as a designer, you should rarely, if ever, be doing your own imposition. If you're a one man print-shop, it might be different, but if not, imposition should be left to an operator who knows the production environment.