color Inconsistencies

rande

Wonder if someone can put me on the right path.
We've been having problems on occasion.
The pressman is having to bring down the cyan and sometime the magenta
to match our proofs.
The proofer checks out fine.
He's able to hit most jobs with the densities setup my the screen guys.
But sometimes he really struggles with cyan and magenta. He's just switched units
so that should rule out the unit.
My question is; assuming that everything above and related to that part of it
checks out. Is there something in client files that could be messing things up; such as color management (which I'm not an expert on). We for the most part make postscript files and run thru distiller. We have had color management off in Indd. but recently I've had it on.
Are the clients saving their files differently? We get PDF alot, I have nailed it down to what type of files yet.

RGB 1998
US Web Coated Swop v2

CM-
RGB - preserve
CMYK - Preserve

Is there something in TrueFlow that would affect certain files differently.

Any colormanagement preflighting we should be doing to make this more consistent ?
Grachol 7
TF4.01
CS3

[SNIP]
The pressman is having to bring down the cyan and sometime the magenta
to match our proofs.
The proofer checks out fine.[SNIP]

Could you elaborate on those two statements?
What do you mean that the proofer checks out fine? If you are supplying the proofs, how have you validated their conformance to a color standard/specification?

best, gordon p

my print blog here: Quality In Print current topic: lpi vs dpi

He's bringing down the densities. by about 10.

To test the proofer we were told to run a strip of the color chart and visually compare.

I recently upgraded the proofer software and calibrated and ran a strip of my color chart that I compare to the original color proof.

this problem has been happening for a while now even before the upgraded.

the pressman doesn't think its the proofs either.