problems with delivery and top of pile offset

joe stag

my company recently purchased a used Hiedelberg xl-75 6 color with coater and extended delivery. since proper training was not included in the budget we have been winging it as far as air settings for delivery and proper heat management go. I have around 6 years of press experience most of which was on a man roland 300 series. we are using the exact same ink , fountain solution, and substrate on this new press as on the roland. the problem is that most of the time I am having a very difficult time with delivering printed sheets. we usually run 23x29 60# c1s. I have no problems with thicker stock or smaller sheets but our label stock gives me a headache every time. another issue I have is the top of pile offset. on the man roland we run exactly the same stuff without issue but can not figure out why we are offsetting jobs on this press. any advice on air/heat settings in the delivery and some helpful hints for getting this light stock to deliver normally on this press are appreaciated.

I don't have any experience of XL but as a rule of thumb, always use the minimum air settings when printing lighter or thinner stocks.
If all air settings you believe are ok then also check your delivery gripper settings to make sure all are at same settings.
As far as set-off is concerned, check your ink densities if those are on higher side, use minimum sufficient spray powder to prevent set-off and also check your pile temperature, too much heat can also make an adverse effect on ink and give you set-off problems.
I hope this helps.