Inherited small print shop...

robbg439

Let me start by asking your forgiveness. I am pretty much a complete newbie to offset printing, so pardon any ignorance you might encounter as you so graciously read this post.

A family friend ran a tiny offset shop out of his home from the 80's until his untimely death in 2004. The equipment sat idle in his shop until a week ago.

I'm a book designer and printmaker (albeit intaglio and silkscreen) who's had dreams of getting into offset production. So I convinced the widow of the owner to let me inherit the equipment and resurrect it to working order. Now I'm playing detective and trying to figure out how to get the equipment up and running again, without manuals.

The press is a hamada 611 ECD 1-color 320 x 450mm with a crestline dampening system. There's an Agfa Repromaster 500 vertical process camera. And then there's the mysterious "3M 1142 FP". I assume FP stands for Film Processor, but I can't find any information about this particular piece of equipment on the internet. It seems 3M divested their prepress equip. department to Imation, who in turn completely phased it out. I think he was working with Silvermaster plates and processing them in this machine, because there is a note on it which seems to record when the silvermaster chemicals were changed. These chemicals were left in the machine, and have completely dried out. Any suggestions as to how to safely clean it?

So thats what I know. Can I assume that he was exposing the silvermaster plates right on the process camera using opaque paste-ups and then processing them in the film processor? Does anyone have any experience using this equipment and/or press? Any help, advice, words of wisdom, etc. would be greatly appreciated, both by me and the ghost of printer past.

First off.....sorry to hear of your friends untimely death. I'm sure he'd be thrilled that you're trying to get his shop back up and running.