Anyone familiar with ManRoland DirectDrive?

Alberto

Hello!

I'm an italian press operator in a little company.
I was just asking myself if there's anyone in this forum working on a ManRoland DirectDrive press...
I think that for companies which need to reduce makeready time this press could be a real wonderful solution so I was curious to talk with someone who works on it, if possible :)

Thank You!

Alberto

Hello Alberto,
I was at a demo in Offenbach last week on the direct drive Roland and the printer went from 4 process to another 4 process. 4 plates off and 4plates on plus a blanket wash in 1min 45 sec. The printer did a full make ready and ran 2000 sheets all in 9 minutes. Direct drive really is the way forward.

Hello Nagrom!
thank you for your reply!

I was at one demo too in Offenbach last week.. Maybe we were at the same time in the same place :) I saw the demonstration on that DirectDrive press and I was as impressed as you are !!
(I also saw another demo about "embossing" on Uv varnish on an HiPrint press.. interesting..)

I was searching for someone who has some direct real working experience on a DirectDrive because, you know, demo are always a bit "prepared" to impress customers..

Yes , I saw that embossing too.

KBA also have the same direct drive, I have tested KBA, Roland, Heidelberg and Komori. The KBA and Roland seem to be the best at it.

Regards

did you see the new kba flying job change that was just announced. got a ten color. run it as a 5 color with no stopping. I am not sure that this is a great benefit. if you have a 10 color wouldnt runing 5 over five be better. I suppose a 16 unit perfector would be awsome. 4 over 4 continuous.

I didn't know this new feature by Kba.. thank's rbailleu..

If I understood well they suggest to use a 10 color as 2 5 colors.. I don't know if it's so interesting in terms of "economics benefits".