Do you shut your presses down during lunch?

Zebedee

I thought I had a money saving idea for our small pressroom. I was almost thrown out of the room when I suggested that we have a Pressroom Assistant monitor press runs while the Press Operator is taking lunch. Currently they shut down our 3 Sakurai presses. I am new to the industry so I can claim inexperience, but is this idea way out of line?

Seriously? What kind of presses are we talking about here? Our guys eat at the press while they work (we have two 40" six colors). Press operators don't take lunch. I've never heard of anywhere that does. So, no - you aren't out of line at all.

Who has enough work to care? We are lucky these days to run 10 jobs a week never mind worry about shutting down for lunch.

Lots of pressrooms do not allow food to be eaten at the press due to the nature of their work (Pharmaceutical Packaging).
Also if press people do not wash their hands while eating their lunch at the press they might get a mouthful of Reflex Blue and solvent from their dirty hands. If you are serious about keeping the press running during breaks you can install a small breakroom near the press so that the press guys can keep and eye on whats happening. If you want to keep the presses running then you must have a good training program in place so that the rest of the press crew can fill in the gaps when someone is off on break.
You can have your pressman plan makereadies and wash ups so that the press is always manned and never sitting idle.
Just some suggestions.

When I was a pressman, I never took a break in the middle of a run and yes, I did have some reflex blue on my ham salad butties! :)

It takes way too long to get the press up and running again - run-ups etc, the ink needs to warm up etc.

The metal plates will also start to oxidise etc.

That was a while back though!