Agfa Grand Sherpa 50 woes

DamionMT

hello, and I hope you can help...

I've been running a Agfa Grand Sherpa for a few years now in a graphics department of a pharma company. It's been all sorts of trouble, but usually fixable with some intensive cleaning.

Yesterday however a new wrinkle developed, the prints coming out of the machine are demonstrating moderate to severe horizontal banding on the cyan and black. I'm checking the print heads via test-print regularly, but nothing is showing up "wrong" there, yet the quality of the proofs coming out of the machine is deteriorating steadily.

Where is a good place to go to troubleshoot this machine? I'm growing steadily more desperate, thanks.

Damion Mosier-Tidd

Can you tell me about other issues you've had? What about service? Are you happy with the service contract or warantee on Agfa machines?

When this happened to me, it was the print head. Maybe you should have a tech. re-confirm.

good luck

Can you tell me about other issues you've had? What about service? Are you happy with the service contract or warantee on Agfa machines?

Hi Mel,

It's been a while since we've replaced our Grand's with Epson 9800's but I do recall banding being a regular issue. A few powerful cleanings seems to clear it. Other times, we had to have service come and realign the heads (sometimes replace them).

I also remember occasionally having a fine gray spatter on the right (control panel) side of the paper that would gradually fade going further away from the control panel side of the paper. As I remember, there is a "spit cup" just to the right of the paper (when it's loaded) that has a rather course pad in it. Replacing that pad would resolve the misty spatter.

Hope this helps!
Jon Morgan
Hopkins Printing

Your best bet would probably be to contact GEI Calgraph and open a service call. Their number is 800-842-8448.

We used to fight those issues as well.

Kind regards,
Jon Morgan
Hopkins Printing