Best practice converting PANTONE Lab value spot colors to CMYK within a PDF?

Jayhawkmike

Specifically in Pitstop but any work-around you have will do. Example - you get a PDF with 5 spot colors. They didn't use Color Bridge and the PANTONE values are Lab NOT CMYK. Do you use a action lists?
We are retiring Neo (issues with support, lack of updates) and I'm just now getting back into relying on Pitstop for PDF editing, preflight, color, etc.

Crickets. I'll ask Enfocus as well. I'm new to Pitstop 13, but I see that there is a SPOT to CMYK action list. Just would like to know HOW it's converting them. I don't think it's using Color Bridge formulas.

Jayhawk,

My understanding on this has always been that whenever a postscript file -- eps or pdf -- has a named spot color within, it also carries what is known as an "alternate description" of that color, which is -- as I remember it -- the CMYK value of the spot color in whatever color space your application was in when the file was made.

There is a way in Acrobat to access the alternate description and change it, but it's been awhile, and a few versions back.

As regards your second question, I'm not familiar with Pitstop at all, but any time you're going from spot to CMYK at print time, it'd better be to the destination printer profile. And keep in mind that bridge formulas aren't rendered exactly in any common working space, so as far as using them as actual printable CMYK values...

that's not too likely to ever happen.

Mike Adams
Correct Color

It really depends on your expectation on how you want to handle this. The current way with Lab based Spot Colors is to convert to process using color management. The result will depend upon your color management settings and the destination profile/rendering intent etc. Color Bridge formulas do not apply in this situation.