Cheap and cheerful small MFC's

bcr

Hi all,

In addition to the big MFC's that we run I am looking to possibly order some very small and basic colour desktop MFC's that we can let visitors use. Any recommendations along the following lines would be appreciated:

i) Cheap to purchase and run. No service contract. Cheap aftermarket toners should be available. We want to get as low as possible on the running costs. Ideally they would be mechanically reliable and basic too.
ii) Speed - 25 to 40 colour PPM ideally.
iii) Mostly A4 use only but A3 capability would be nice too.
iv) Finishing - none required. They can use a stapler and a hole punch.
v) Did I mention small, cheap and simple :)

I've some experience with small HP MFC's that seem fairly OK for the money, but the availability of cheap aftermarket toners is a dealbreaker I think.

Thanks all!

I've some experience with small HP MFC's that seem fairly OK for the money, but the availability of cheap aftermarket toners is a dealbreaker I think.

Funny you should say that...whenever I think of a printer with a mass of third party toners, i think HP. Your best best would be find a model you like the look of, then have a look on eBay for the toners.

Another option (not sure if you specifically want lasers or not), is the Epson EcoTank printers. We've got a couple of these for different uses and the cost of GENUINE ink is ridiculously cheap.

Thanks Gaz, the Epson ones seem a bit on the slow side TBH, although the ink cost does sound promising. I think HP laser with cheap aftermarket toner is probably the way I'll go. I have to mull it over really, some of our guests will be happy with a 35ppm tabletop colour MFC, whereas some will want a 55ppm MFC. Have to weigh up the pros and cons of getting cheap as chips basic units for the majority and then renting the larger ones when needed, vs. just getting the larger ones from the off.