DCS2 instead of PDF/X-1a? PDF problem

Widmark

Hello-

I am a print designer/production artist with a little bit of pre-press/service bureau experience. Like many, I've been releasing files as PDF/X-1a's these days, but my printer is having trouble with the latest job, a 4c booklet created in Quark. The previous job I did with them was in InDesign and didn't have any issues.

I made my PDF/X-1a's and preflighted them in Acrobat, which confirmed compliance. The printer is getting the error "internal error in PDFLibrary".

They're asking if I can save them as a DCS2 file. My only experience with with DCS files was creating multichannel EPS files to mix spot colors with CMYK in photoshop. I don't understand what they're asking for (and yes, I'm asking them, but I thought I'd do some research here as well.) Is it like a separated Quark file? I can't imagine they'd want files supplied from photoshop with rasterized type.

Is there another version of DCS2 I'm not familiar with? Searching these forums I saw some mentions of ripping files as DCS2, but I assume that's something I'd need special software or a RIP for? Alternately, any ideas what could be causing the initial error with the PDF?

Any thoughts, help or suggestions, much appreciated, thank you.

You can save a DCS2 out of Quark if that is what they would rather have. Are you exporting to PDF or printing Postscript and distilling?

Leonard is right.
If this printer really needs DCS2 files instead of PDF/X-1a, run. Run fast.
They are not up to date (or should I say several years behind the times), either on their equipment or their knowledge. Or both.

I can only imagine why they would need DCS2 ... maybe they try to impose your files with an ancient version of QuarkXPress or want to make adjustments.