Digital press for long term reliability

ZeeBees

OK, don't flame me if these questions have been asked a million times before.

I've been in competing talks between the konica 6500/6501 and the canon 6000 for several months now, we have the long term leased out with $1 buyout so it would be of benefit for taxes, price per print equaled between the 2 vendors at black$.011 and color at $.055, monthly cost per month is about dead even.
Now, I am just a graphic artist, but I had this wild idea to bring the 60-75 K a year the company spends per year on printing in-house. we manufacture stuff, so the people who operate the machine will not be brain surgically inclined as far as maintenance and operation. Annually, I need to print 300-700 thousand black 11X17 sheets (600K-1400K imprints), about 200-500K color imprints (catalogs mostly, perfect bound). we are getting an inline perfect binder, folder, trimmer, and external hydraulic cutter and right angle folder with whichever option we go for.

My question is, which machine will last the longest with the least effort and long term cost? It is pretty much up to me to decide which is the better brand to go with. And I'd like a solution with at least a 10 year reliable life span.

my thoughts on the konica were that it looked a bit flimsy, but the seller and techie really did a good job pushing it. color and greyscale printing on both were fine, the footprint on either setup is huge, but doable. We are starting to get into VDP and auto-pagination from SQL to indesign, currently with incatalog, but if easycatalog was affordable, we would prefer it. Either of these machines seem capable of large high res indd or pdf file printing, and fast and large enough page ripping as we are expecting to be making lots of changes to customize each catalog printing.
Will also be printing pretty exclusively from Mac Leopard, or windows Xp if I have to.
Any experience with any of these systems would be appreciated.