G7__Gracol 7_gmg_oris_efi

rande

We're moving into the G7 calibration method; we're also getting another printer. Epson 9800 or 9880.
We're wondering if the proofer software (EFI, Oris, gmg) makes any difference on hitting the Gracol 7 specs.. We need to be within a 1.5 delta E of our client.
If it will help; we run Trueflow 3.12 going up to 4 within a week. We're running an epson 10600 with Chroma Pro/Chorma net software.
All we do is drap and drop tiffs over to the ChromaPro to proof our layouts. Backed up dyluxes and contact prints.
We checked on the differences between those and EFI seems to be the more user friendly.
But I don't understand what all the others could do for us, especially with the new g7 stuff.
I'm no expert, so I would appreciate some opinions.

Thanks
Rande

PS. Any opinions on G7 would be welcome also.
Is it a good idea getting certified to tweak the curves or is just learning to calibrate good enough?
I'm confused, do you need the ideAlliance curve software to calibrate or just make new curves, if you're certified.
Has anyone gotten their ink companies to come in and get you G7 compliant for free?
Any other thoughts would be great.
Thanks

Re: G7__Gracol 7_gmg_oris_efi

>We're wondering if the proofer software (EFI, Oris, gmg) makes any difference on hitting the Gracol 7 specs.. We need to be within a 1.5 delta E of our client.

Any of those Rips should allow you to hit Gracol 7 specs within that tolerance with an Epson 98x0, depending on paper. Really have to look the overall functionality , user freindliness, and how they fit your workflow to determine the best solution.

>PS. Any opinions on G7 would be welcome also.Is it a good idea getting certified to tweak the curves or is just learning to calibrate good enough?

You could certainly learn to do it yourself. Getting certified would help if you wanted to train others, certify others as G7 Master printers or do consulting.