Hard Drive Recovery Software?

jorgewang046

Hello all,

Last week my wife's Hard Drive died. She had Windows Vista on it and the partition that it is on is now corrupt. I've bought a new hard drive and installed ubuntu on it. I'm trying to recovery data off the old hard drive. Does anyone know a hard drive recovery software? ? I've found a software call CloudBacko, but I have no experience with that. I'm open to all suggestions that might help recover data.

Thank you in advance!

Once I accidentally deleted (mission critical) data off our Job Data share on our Prinergy server because I didn't pay close enough attention to which server window I was working in. I knew that day would come eventually. Recuva totally bailed me out. Because I acted immediately, it recovered *most* of the files I accidentally deleted. Some didn't make it but recovered most of it. Very user friendly interface but just not sure if they have a Linux build. Good luck.

https://www.piriform.com/recuva

The service you posted a link to appears to be a backup solution - not what you need at this point. That would help you if everything on the disk were previously backed up using that service.

If you have any linux/unix experience or have some patience and willingness to learn, I would suggest using a linux live disk and the command ddrescue. I believe it comes with the Opensuse live disk, and probably many other distributions. A live disk allows you to completely boot up an operating system from a CD, DVD or USB, without anything having to be installed on a hard drive (useful for troubleshooting and fixing things).