Help! AB Dick 9850 Envelope printing

Louiscamp

I'm pretty new to printing offset on this AB Dick 9850, only 2 years. Never had a problem like this printing envelopes. When printing them the flaps are opening and creasing. I noticed that the flap is opening before going into the rollers and creasing.

I've tightened the guides up, I've loosened the guides. May clear up for a while, but boom, back to doing it again.

I'm ready to push the press into traffic!

Any ideas?

Thanks!!!!

Lou

Turn off your air and try running with the pile as low as it will go. Also move the envelope in the feeder to the left or right to see if feeding improves. If it does I believe there is a side to side adjustment on the plate clamp. If not you can trim one side of the plate so it punches off center. The flap is probably getting stuck on one of the impression fingers on the feeder. You may need to find a sweet spot so the flaps dont open

I'm pretty new to printing offset on this AB Dick 9850, only 2 years. Never had a problem like this printing envelopes. When printing them the flaps are opening and creasing. I noticed that the flap is opening before going into the rollers and creasing.

I've tightened the guides up, I've loosened the guides. May clear up for a while, but boom, back to doing it again.

I'm ready to push the press into traffic!

Any ideas?

Thanks!!!!

Lou

What kind of envelopes are we talking here? Regular no. 10's, no. 9's, 9x12 open end or open side 10x13 open end or side? Where are you gripping them at on the flap or tail or on the side?

Do you squeeze the tops of the envelopes before putting them in the feeder ? It may help to crease the flap fold so they lay flatter.

jmtc...

#10's, side grip.