Is Digital Right for Me?

AP90

Hey guys, been lurking on the forum for a while reading information. I have no printing background, but am looking to get into it. Basically I have a publishing company where we do monthly publications. We have 13 different publications and the issues per publication run anywhere from 1800 to 4500. Right now I outsource my printing to offset, but am looking to bring it in house in order to save money. i currently run about 1.1 million 8.5x11 pages a month, and usually have a 3-4 day window before the printing needs to be finished. Also, about 300-400k of those involve color.

My volume stays roughly the same each month, so its a pretty predictable situation that I'm in. I have met with a Xerox representative and we have sat down and talked about my needs and what would work for my company. They are pushing 2 Xerox 1000's to me right now, and from what I've read they have offered a pretty good 6 year lease on them with a competitive click charge. I have calls in to KM, HP, Canon, and Kodak to get information, Xerox has just been the quickest to respond and set up something, but KM has responded so far. I will say that I am pretty impressed with how Xerox has handled themselves and the sales reps that I have talked to. It doesn't seem I'm getting worked over on price compared to what I have read about others and their experience with Xerox pricing and sales reps.