Just starting out

I am new to this forum, I have been a graphic designer with a large defense contractor for 10 years. I have also been in charge of the print department for about 7 of those years. I am currently thinking about starting a small print service and would appreciate any info on equipment needs. My goal is to take over an empty office suite in a large business office complex. I could supply the tenants with color or B&W copies, brochures, fliers, posters and banners, business cards, binding etc and have larger runs or offset work sent out. At my last position we had a docucolor 2400, xerox 5050, drill press, Epson sylus pro 9600, large paper cutter, and GBC punch/Binder which seemed very satisfactory. What other equipment should I invest in?

My #1 bit of advice would be to make sure that you have a written business plan. Anything is better than nothing and they are worth their weight in gold.

On the equipment: buy the absolute minimum you can to start off with, sub out everything you can until you build up the business. When I owned a copy shop, a pouch laminator (up to A2) size paid for itself very quickly and provided a useful local service.

I hope that helps a little bit. I left the "big corporate" world myself quite a few years ago and started my own small business. The first one was an expensive learning experience, the second actually makes money, and is not so small anymore :)

Ifelton: In your experience, does subbing out everything you can provide you with enough profit margin and control (turn around and quality) to give you a competitive foothold?

To the original question: I like the idea of being in a business complex location as it might allow you to have some weekends off (when you are not tending to the details of running the business.)