PDF File Issue

GLP

Have been managing Offset Press Dept for years but was recently given the Digital Press Dept. to manage and I've got alot of learning to do. Have been doing quite a bit of reading. One thing that came up is this. We have a customer that wants brochure's printed in 27different languages. The files come from various different people. These files all have the same "exact" color graphics in them, its just the language thats different. We just "proofed" our first language (which happened to be English)and it was approved. However when we received our first live order that was in Spanish the "color graphics" in the customer file did not match what we "proofed". In my laymans terms the color recipies are different. We had to have our programming dept. spend many hours fixing this issue. When I asked them why they could not use the file from the "approved proof run" and just swap out the languague I got alot of smoke & mirrors. I know I'm new to this but something just doesn't smell right. To me it would be like using the the same screen negatives and just overprinting the various languages. Or am I all wet and have a hell of alot to learn.

Could be "smoke and mirrors" or it could be how the files are built. I'd spend a lot more time learning about digital files and what they are comprised of.

Not all PDF's are created equal and the issue could be how the files where flattened, or the design itself. If you don't believe what you are being told-then prove them wrong else-there probably is a reason its not that simple.

What may appear as smoke & mirrors to you is someone telling you what the reasoning is behind not being able to just double burn the other languages in.
Depending on how the job is built there could be hours or minutes to make it correct.
The correct way would be to build the entire job in In Design using master pages for the color or common elements & then using different layers for each language.