Preps 5.3.3 - Marks

irreality

So Im new to the whole Preps Scene, and I am finding it very frustrating. This is not the most user friendly piece of software that I have ever used.

My Question is in relation to marks - Or smartmarks ... or whatever kind of mark i will be needing. OK, I know how to make custom marks, easy peasy - however my requirements need these marks to be aligned to some pages on the sheet ... but not others. Now, Smartmarks will place a mark on every single page. (which I dont want), and I understand that It is allocated via page number. However, I need these page numbers to be legit since i will be placing the pages in EVO.

As far as I can tell there is no way to remove an INDIVIDUAL smartmark. (not so smart now are we) as they are all grouped together. I need to know if it is possible to remove an individual mark......

If not, the only way I see that I can go forward with the marks that I want. Is to create a template with the page numbers that dont correspond (however positioning the marks on the pages that I want)... Then Outputting this "template" to a PDF/EPS format. Removing the marks that I want or dont want, as well as the pageholders that are in place. Then Reimporting this whole sheet back into PREPS as one big mark. and VOILA my marks are where they need to be.

OH and another question. I am having an issue with the marks on the sheet, being knocked out by page bleed... or something... Im not sure exactly what it is that is knocking them out. I selected the bring to front option on the marks... but it still gets knocked out.... any ideas...

And One last one for good luck. If in my "BIG MARK" I specify white areas.... will these be honoured as I go through the steps. I am looking to knock out some areas for diecutting purposes....

Help Is greatly appreciated......

Thanks in Advance..

Try Static Marks

Try Static Marks