Printer for wedding invitation business

mdeck

Hi, I'm a complete newbie to the printing business and could use some advice. I'm setting up my own wedding invitation business, but I'm not sure what kind of machine to invest in. I need something that can do color digital printing on 110 lb cardstock, with duplex if possible. I'd probably only do about 5000-7000 pages a month, so it doesn't need to be industrial strength, but it does need to be at professional quality (same as if you went to a store and bought them). Any recommendations? Sorry if this is the wrong place for this.

Thanks, mike.

In my honest opinion, at those quantities no machine will be really cost effective.

Instead of investing in a device, I would recommend partnering with a local service provider until you have built up enough volume to justify an outright purchase.

In my honest opinion, at those quantities no machine will be really cost effective.

Instead of investing in a device, I would recommend partnering with a local service provider until you have built up enough volume to justify an outright purchase.

You're not necessarily correct. Wedding stationery isn't like pay for print. The customer is ordering a high value product, so what really matters is your gross profit, not the number of sheets that pass through the machine.

You could look at a xerox 252/260, but I wouldn't recommend it if you want to send out samples and cross your fingers and hope that when the customer orders 6 months later the printed item looks the same.

From what I've heard the km6501 might do the job. Everyone seems to say that it's happy printing textured cards and it appears to be highly rated for colour repeatability.

We're currently looking at the km c8000, which, if you were looking at our monthly copy count you'd think we were nuts... except our main business is wedding stationery.