Replacing 2 Konica 6500s

Despotes

Registered Users
I am replacing 2 Konica 6500's with booklet makers soon. My volume has outstripped their capacity. I have a Xerox 700 I am keeping and am looking at a couple of Xerox 8002's or a couple of Xerox 800's with the ColorWorks Pro or Plockmatic booklet makers. We are also considering the Canon C7000, the Konica C8000 and the Ricoh Pro C901.

We produce a great deal of saddle stitched booklets. We will be purchasing a twin loop system, like the GBC STL-1000 and an auto puncher for larger catalogs.

What are your experiences with these printers? Pros and Cons. Gotchas. Advice.

Thanks

We have a Ricoh 720, so I can't help you with the 901, but we do have the Plockmatic.
It's a great booklet maker. You wont be disappointed. Runs at engine speed, will easily blow away 2 c6500's on 8.5 x 11 booklets

I have been running 2 Pro C901's for three months daily and both units are about 30K off their first 400K PM cycle. Neither machine has required service and we have not replaced any of the parts in the ORU kit. The C901 seems to just keep going...

Not sure about Ricoh but tried out a Canon a few years back when we went with the KM 6500 liked the way the output looked better on the KM. Have seen post about the Canon always needing service. (See below.) Love our KM service guy so when we upgrade soon going with them. KM 8000 has some great features - Decurling Humidifier Unit, dual fusing, and belt air feed. Duty cycle of 500,000 per month. But I think for the cost you can get 2 KM 7000 for about the same price that way you should always have one up and running. Not sure which way will be going. I think they all print nice it's the service that is important.