rgb cmyk luminosity shifts

kl

hi all
hope you can help me with this.
I work in the publishing industry, photo-retouching images for print.
I use an rgb workflow for all my image work, and then convert to cmyk to place an image in InDesign. The more I learn about working with photographs, the more I seem to be having this issue:
Printers and cmyk-workflow retouchers recommend that there be no holes (areas of missing information) in the cmyk separations in the final placed cmyk image file, in order to minimise banding (especially not when using gravure printing (which clips the possible image information as it is able only to reproduce tones of 7% or more)).
In other words there must be an even tone in all channels, including cyan (especially on skin-tones). But the techniques I am using more and more (pwl, dodge and burn) leave me with a glowy, glossy image in rgb, and an image full of holes (on the highlight areas) in cmyk.
When I fill in these holes (using a combination of apply image and information copying from other channels), the glowy, glossy skin effect is minimised.
How do I get around this?
What am I doing wrong?
please help.
Karin

Re: rgb cmyk luminosity shifts

It might help to use your proof setup when retouching. Got to view-proof setup-custom and choose your eventual cmyk profile. Now you can at least see what you will get when you eventually convert. For me, I never use dodge and burn for print photos. I find you loose too much detail. I would use masks or, even easier, use the history brush to paint back in detail. Hope that helps.

Okay - so, you must become one with the info pallet !

Mask that area, apply a channel mixer adjustment layer, and adjust the "percentage" of each color channel.

Place the eyedropper over the area and use your info palet to see the color percentages go down until you hit 7% (total).

On your info pallet, you can change the options to show a "total ink amount"