Slow printing Linux/PostScript Konica-Minolta

mbarchein

Hello, I'm new in this forum and I am having a problem. I'm looking for your expert advice. Please, if this is not the appropiate place to ask, point me to some other forum.

I am a sysadmin experienced in opensource (mostly Linux) solutions. One of our customers is running a printing shop oriented to students. The students send via email some PDF files (A4 paper size) with custom options (n-up, color/bw, page range, etc) and the printing pipeline I've made for my customer automatically does the following:

1) Get the original file
2) Convert it to PDF if job is MS Word / Powerpoint (ghostscript / online conversion service)
3) Process it to generate a new PDF file with the desired output (page ranges, n-up, etc.) (pdfjam)
4) Convert it to PostScript (acroread)
5) Send PostScript to printer (CUPS)

The main problem I'm facing here is that printing is very slow for some types of jobs, mainly with those with lots of raster images (imagine, for example, a job made only of scanned pages)

My customer is using these printers:

- Konica-Minolta Bizhub PRO 1050
- Konica-Minolta Bizhub PRO 920
- Konica-Minolta Bizhub C353
- Konica-Minolta Bizhub C360

All the tools I'm using are Linux based:

- The printers are controlled by CUPS, 1.5.x using generic PCL6 or PostScript drivers (no native drivers for those models)
- Final PostScript files are being generated by "acroread" 9.5.x (Adobe's Official Acroread for Linux). I have tried to use ghostscript but the processing time is too big (20x more) and output files are huge in some cases (several GB for an input PDF file of 20MB)

What I'm observing is very slow feeding of final PostScript file to printer. It seems that printers have a very slow RIP (I think that's the term) that is causing the slowness. Network problems are discarded.