Time for revolution?

rasmuswikman

Since I entered the printing industry three years ago I've become more and more surprised (or horrified) of the shrewd relation between supply and demand. Since our business is all digital I don't really know if it applies to the "traditional" part of the industry aswell (offset etc). There are few free ($99 for a printer comparison report!) objective sources of information, and discussion forums (like this one) are only starting to get populated.

Four of my major issues with the suppliers (equipment providers) are:

1. The prices
It's hard to find information on who pays what (especially click costs). The secrecy lends me to believe that there is a large difference. And if there isn't, then why aren't they published? Born in the 80's I'm used to getting information about products BEFORE I buy them WITHOUT having to listen to sales people. (Yes, I bought my Volkswagen Polo by surfing on the net and without test-driving it, and I love it!)

Edit 2: What I'm really trying to say is that while I understand that the click-model is a good way of measuring the need for service, I think that the difference in price between monochrome and full color is too steep. It "forces" us to sell black & white while roughly 95% of our customers want color.

I'd like to see is a simple service like Pricerunner where we (anonymously) could fill in the details of what and to who we pay for software, hardware and service.

2. The competition