what is a "Class A Barcode"

DavidMa

I have a request to generate a Class A barcode.
I am currently using Barcode Pro, and I have no options for a Class A barcode.
Do any of you know what this is?
It contains 12 digits and is a straight code that resembles a Code 128.
I've contacted the SNX (Barcode Pro) people and they think the client is referring to a UPC A, but it's not.

TIA,
David

I have never heard of this 'term' used for barcode - I have heard people ask for a UPC-A

- that is, I have no experience with anyone asking me for a "Class A" barcode, and as I can't seem to find that using Google, this is either someone using an internal naming convention that is particular to their company, or the mean UPC - A

UPC-A has a fixed length of 11 characters plus the check character. Its character set is '0' to '9'.

UPC-A can also have a 2 or 5-digit add-on

Barcode Types

also;

"Basic Barcoding for Beginners" Barcode Tutorial & FAQ by IDAutomation®

David,

Do you have a bar code verifier scanner? if not, can you send me the upc and I will scan it which will tell me what type is it based on the decoding of the bars. You know that a version A has 12 numbers if you count the number system character and the check digit. One can extend the bars that usually are "raised" to accommodate the numbers so the code will look like a 128, but still read like a version A. I remember years ago when a graphic artist added pussy willow tops to the top of the bars to make it blend in graphically - neat trick.

-Bill-

yeah,I've been googling it for two days and came up empty handed, too.

I have scanners and everything, but, nothing to tell me if anything I do is a "class A".
I'm thinking it's an internal name as well, but the client is "just make it a class a, use whatever barcode you want"...
They won't tell me what software they use to make a Class A barcode, that would be too easy.
I smell a rat.

Greetings David,