Dry Offset Dot Gain

claytonperry

I am new to setting-up art for Dry Offset Printing. Does anyone know what standard dot gain curve values would be for:

2-4-6-8-10-15-20-30-40-45-50-55-60-70-80-85-90-92-94-96-98-100%

I am eager to learn anything I can about Dry Offset.

Clayton

dry dot gain

dry dot gain

The typical dot gain for commerical color separations, is around 20% (a 50% in file =70% at press). Call me offline and I can get you the entire tone scale.
Dan 412.889.7643

I am new to setting-up art for Dry Offset Printing. Does anyone know what standard dot gain curve values would be for:

2-4-6-8-10-15-20-30-40-45-50-55-60-70-80-85-90-92-94-96-98-100%

I am eager to learn anything I can about Dry Offset.

Clayton

Clayton,

Maybe you could clarify some issues.

When you say Dry Offset do you really mean Dry Offset which has a raised flexo type plate or are you referring to Waterless Offset? There is a difference.

Also your application. Is this Dry Offset on a conventional type press or is it on a common blanket type press? This has a big difference in the requirements for prepress.

Dot Gain misconception

Dot Gain misconception

It is an ardent and often misinterpreted issue: you can not change the "physical" Dot Gain of a press. A press, every press, has its own Dot Gain and DGC (Dot Gain Compensation Curves) are Look Up Tables that change x% input into y% output.
Therefore Standards have been developed to which every printer should work, such as ISO, SWOP, GraCol.
To elaborate on the ISO (google for ISO 12647): (valid for screen rulings between 150 and 175 lpi) using a Reflectance Densitometer, and paper type 1 & 2 (white) 50% on the digital file (Photoshop, Indesign, Illustrator…) prints 64.3% for CMY and 67 for K , using Murray Davis formula, on X-Rite/Gretag densitometers it is named Dot Area, which is misleading.