ISO 12647 Paper Types

JDT

Hi Everyone,

I am new here so would like to briefly introduce my self. I am a photographer. In my small little world with my Epson wide format printer, and creating my own custom ICC profiles, I am getting very accurate color reproductions. So I know what an end-to-end color managed work-flow is capable of, and I know that it works. But whenever I have to send artwork to a print shop, I want to pull my hair out. Which is why I am here. From reading this forum I can tell that there are many people here with lots of experience, so hopefully I can learn how to properly communicate color with a print shop.

What I understand so far about printing presses (which is not a lot), is that you do not create custom profiles for every press, ink and paper combination. Instead every press is adjusted (or calibrated) to behave as per some or other standard profile.

Currently I am dealing with a print shop that claims to be printing according to ISO 12647-2. So this is my question: How do I find the appropriate ICC profile to use? I noticed that there are several different profiles, depending on paper type. So how do you decide which one to use?

I have a sample of the paper that will be used for my print job. I measured the white as Lab=94,2,-6. On areas of the paper that have the optional spot UV coating, the white is Lab=94,1,-4. So there is already a deltaE=2 difference just between parts of the paper with and without the spot UV coating. Does this mean that I should use two different ICC profiles for the areas with and without the spot UV? Or is this compensated for automatically by the press calibration?

Thanks
Johan