Xerox 700 v/ DC252

goodlands

I am thinking of getting into the digital print business, primarily to offer customized and/or personalized high photographic quality products such as calendars and photo books. We have a wealthy tourist market where I live - Mauritius - and no such service exists to date.

General commercial printing of business cards, short-run postcards for hotels, restaurant menus and corporate brochures will also be part of the service.

I have no experience in digital document printing but have been a screen-printer for over 30 years and a digital large format dye-sublimation printer for the past 10 years. I am also a professional photographer and require the highest output quality.

My question is whether the improved front-to-back registration, better paper handling and general ease of operation of the 700 would justify the extra cost compared to the older 252? Apart from the above features I gather that the 700 and DC252 print a similar image quality @ 2400 x 2400 dpi

I would appreciate your advice.

There's a wealth of information from people already using these machines and who have evaluated them already on this board. If you haven't already, then it's well worth using the "search" facility to review them.

There's a couple of things that I can tell you that may help.