XMF is not a true workflow

Tell us more ?

Tell us more ?

We have had XMF installed for a couple of weeks now and I have to say it is not a workflow but a simple system that is overcomplicated.

I had to laugh when i read this;

FUJIFILM XMF is the first commercially available product to integrate the next generation Adobe PDF Print Engine, users are not only ensured of increased workflow speed and flexibility but also of a future-proofed modular technology that can grow with their business.

-- from here --> XMF | Fujifilm Global

As I was a product marketing manager at AGFA, I think we shipped a Mac based PDF RIP in 2002 right in their backyard...

Agfa - 過去の情報・Archives

Please share more - I have no real sense of what "simple system that is overcomplicated" means - is that like the make Hot Ice? Or is it "simple" in that it is a bunch of Acrobat Plug-ins, but complicate in that the interface is not intuitive?

Yep, I'd love you to elaborate too, cosmo, as the only thing slowing us from going from Celebrant to XMF at the moment is $$. The hardest thing is that you only really get to assess stuff AFTER you've bought and used it, regardless of vendor.

From what I've been led to believe so far, XMF:
-has a "render last minute" capability, on a page by page basis, due to its now breaking free from the grip of PostScript. (like all APPE 'flows, from other vendors). So, implicitly, it has "late page replacement" capability. In older .ps RIPs this was achieved through messy EPS (FPO replacement), setups. This has now been simplified due to the nature of the new beast.
-has a more-than-adequate imposition capability built in. I've quizzed Fujifilm people here on this, and it would seem to cover 95% of our imposition needs, including such stuff as shingling.

What I do know is that we increasingly have to do workarounds and watch our derrieres on transparency with CS4 files on Celebrant.

Hope this makes some sense.

XMF is a true workflow

XMF is a true workflow