Could someone explain a "calbration plate curve"

I'm a graphic designer, not a press operator. I know the basics of offset 4 color lithography. I'm studying up on color management practices. Some of what I'm relying on was written with press operators, not graphic designers, in mind. In particular, I see, over and over, passing references to "calibration plate curves". Could one of you explain to me what that is?

I'm a graphic designer, not a press operator. I know the basics of offset 4 color lithography. I'm studying up on color management practices. Some of what I'm relying on was written with press operators, not graphic designers, in mind. In particular, I see, over and over, passing references to "calibration plate curves". Could one of you explain to me what that is?

Calibration means putting a device into a known condition.
Calibration plate curves change tones requested in your file into the desired tones imaged on the plate to enable the press to print the desired tones on the substrate.

Thank you, that is very helpful. In this context, is "tone" = lightness/darkness? Also, how and where are these curves generated, and where do they reside?

Thank you, that is very helpful. In this context, is "tone" = lightness/darkness? Also, how and where are these curves generated, and where do they reside?

I'll try...

Yes, "tone" basically means lightness/darkness. But in a special way.

When you create an image in, for example, PhotoShop (raster image), or Illustrator (vector image), or graphics in InDesign (raster/vector) what you're actually doing is specifying tones that range from 0% ink (light) to 100% ink (dark) and all the tones in between. So, for example, when you specify a "Dark Blue" that color may, behind the scenes, be made up of a 50% tone of Magenta ink, and a 75% tone of Cyan ink, and a 15% tone of Black ink.