CTP background scatter

onwsk8r

Alright experts, blow me out of the water. Prove to me that, at age 27, I'm a noob.

It's a Ricoh 900. It can print plates up to like 300 line screen or something with the Fiery Pro Printer package. Yeah, nobody believes that. When we get metal plates, everything on our Multi 1650 works like a dream.. When we print plates on the Ricoh, we get background scatter. Screens (halftones for you old folks) break up, edges get dirty, and life does not go on. Why does this happen? I'm mostly concerned with the black outlines on the blanket.

This may not help any but you mentioned background scatter. Are you using Absolute Colorimetric for your rendering intent in your RIP? It's been my experience that using this particular rendering intent will create a background scatter dot.

As for the other issues you mentioned, do you actively maintain the 900? Is the environment around the 900 clean? Do you see these issues when printing other things to the 900 (meaning not plates)?

Best regards,
pd

We don't use Absolute Colorimetric.

The environment is fine and we have a maintenance agreement. There is no visible background scatter on the plate when it's printed, or on other things we print. We generally scrub the plates (for runs longer than, say, 1M) with digital plate cleaner, which rubs off toner with no issue. After a thousand or so impressions, the blanket is black (or whatever color) in the areas outside the sheet. This doesn't happen with metal plates. It has the benefit of making it extremely simple to tell if a sheet or an envelope went through at an angle :)

I won't call you a noob, perhaps just a touch arrogant in the first post :p

I'm the newb, since I didn't know you could make plates on a digital press. "Oh, what will they think of next". Actually, I might have heard and dismissed it.