Glunz&Jensen Platewriter?????

Hi Guys,

Newbie here. Well, I finally talked my bosses into getting a CTP. They're looking at the PlateWriter 2000, Home | PlateWriter.com a chem-free platesetter that uses inkjet technology to dry image a 2800 dpi stochastic image onto a proprietary grained metal plate. It's one, if no the cheapest option which is why they're considering it first. Of course I understand that the cheapest is usually not the most cost effective option but this is their focus.

Here in Hawaii, it's a pretty lean market and with the drop in tourism, even leaner. Still, I don't want a unit that fails to satisfy our needs. Do any of your have direct or indirect experience with this unit? What are your opinions in general about this option. Also, which units would you recommend for a remote location that must be chem-free and highly reliable for a small shop doing somewhat demanding commercial quality 4C on a 20" 'deuce'?

I'd appreciate any guidance. Thanks!

*bump* so..... nobody? Nothing? Does anyone have any links to information or contacts that my have information about this one? I'd appreciate any information. :)

Can you give a little more detail about the type of work you are doing, press type, run lengths?

Research both your plates, ink costs and maintenance of the system. Inkjet systems usually offer a lower cost of entry. Depending on the system being purchased you may either be using proprietary inks or proprietary plates (or both).

How many plates a day would you expect to be outputting and what size plates do you need?

Hi Guys,

We run just two small, 2 color Hamada presses: RS34LS2, a two up portrait common blanket press we do forms and such on, plates around 13x19. A252, a two up, two tower landscape press we run longer runs and our 4 color work, plates around 15x20.