Index Tiff Question

mootpointilism

Hello all–

I am a Graphic Designer. (which may be shorthand for "consider this an extremely ignorant question"). I have received some index tiffs from a client and I am attempting to match the 3 or 4 colors in it's table to some specific CMYK values. Our process for this has so far been to convert the Index tiff to CMYK and use "Select color range" and eyedropper to select and then change the CMYK values used in the image. That has worked out well except that when the image contains more than 3 or 4 colors, correcting each one in this fashion can add up, especially when this is the process we are using for 100s of images.

In an attempt to speed up our processes I tried another method of color correcting the index tiffs. While the image is still in index mode I select the Color Table from the Image/Mode menu item (Photoshop CS3) and individually change the index colors' CMYK values. The problem I run into however (as you might be able to guess) is that when the index tiff is then converted from index mode to CMYK it shifts the CMYK values (presumably because the conversion it is based in RGB?)

My question then becomes:
Is there any way to convert an index moded tiff to CMYK mode and force the tiff to recognize and retain the CMYK values? A plug in perhaps, or magic spell?

I apologize if this is mind numbingly ignorant. I'm just looking for a way to save time color correcting these guys. I was hoping I had stumbled upon something.

Thank you for the bother!

-Bruce

My question then becomes:
Is there any way to convert an index moded tiff to CMYK mode and force the tiff to recognize and retain the CMYK values? A plug in perhaps, or magic spell?

-Bruce

Hi Bruce,
Why not converting to RGB (sRGB or else), make corrections if needed (while using CMYK proofing simulation) and finally convert to CMYK.

Louis