Newbie getting 1st envelope press

rokuez

Hello I am very new to bulk printing & I'm looking to get an entry level envelope press or something a little bit above that. I will be printing primarily on A10 Envelopes, sometimes thick cards, and also other large flats from time to time. Around 100-200 A10's a day and hopefully a lot more once the mailing business picks up. I may also print on A10's with a window.

Questions

1. Is there a beginners guide introduction, glossary, or FAQ for newbies to read?

2. Do I need special window envelopes for laser?

3. I'm primarily printing on the Amazon A10 envelopes will I need special envelopes for a envelope press or can I stick with these cheapy envelopes from amazon?

4. When I run batches of envelopes through the envelope press I assume there won't be any issues printing both the To & From address at the same time? What software for this?

5. Do laser printers use a soy based ink?

6. Do any EP's work with Debian Linux or do you need to run Windows for the drivers to work?

7. What are the pros and cons to laser vs inkjet? I've read how laser can melt window envelopes. inkjet can smear. Are there any other issues?

8. Going with an OKI means the cheapest consumables?

9. I read a lot of people commenting about the OKI with a straight shooter, xante impressia, versant 2100, riso com colour, mcs km 1070. What brand has the best reputation?

10. What is the most reliable of these for A10 envelopes that is inkjet? I assume its OKI from what I've been reading?