newbie! need advice please!

nicholas731

hello mates! I am new to the printing world but have a client who wants me to start sending out postcards for them. I am looking at about 30k-40k a month initally with potential growth and eventually needing 100k a month capability. I would LOVE some good advice from you guys and gals!!! I need to be able to
1) print postcards very quickly and with variable data and with paid shipping (mail ready after print)
2) I need to have the right software but im not sure where to even begin with that
3) does the printer automatically cut it to postcard size or will i send larger paper in and have some other machine cut?
4) what is the ebst printer for this type of operation?

i realize that i have very little knowledge in this area but THANKS SO MUCH for your help! Nick

Here's what you will need:

• VDP software to add your appropriate addresses, names, etc. There is VDP capability withing MS Word and InDesign, standalone, but they won't cut it if you even needed to print just 5000 postcards. There are many options for which software to use, and I won't go into the benefits or problems with each one. Instead I'll link you to a thread comparing some options: link

• Database software such as MS Excel: to edit and organize mailing databases.

• Mail addressing software: We use iAddress, which links us directly to Canada Post. It performs tasks such as checking a database against a national registry and updating to new addresses and assigning a mail bundle number to each database record which is printed along with the actual address. Assuming you're not in Canada, you will have to contact the US Postal Service or whatever mailing service you're going to use and find out how they verify addresses.