Pricing standards for digital color printing.

Milo Wilson

Good afternoon.
I'm a technician that decided to get into doing my own print shop. I'm running 2 iGen3s, 1 with an inline BCMx, BDFx and SQM. I'm trying to get pricing guidelines for doing digital print.
Are there basic variables that you use to justify to a customer how much you have to price your print?
I'm a newbie in the printshop area but I've been doing service for 23 yrs on Xerox equipment.
If you would like to PM me with some pricing advice, I would really appreciate it.
We are generally printing for business. Trying to keep away from walkup customers.

Thanks for any input.

Milo . . . its really hard for us out here in webbyland to give you any idea for hard pricing, for the following reasons, 1. Building costs vary vastly, here in the San Francisco Bay area rents are a bit higher than in bozeman montana . . . wages are different, an established printer may have enough room in their existing operation to just put a digital press in one corner of it and not increase his rent. . . . and on and on and on. It would help if you could give us an idea of where you are.

Milo, have you given thought as to what you will specialize in? Are you going to do books or wide format? What are you going to do to make yourself stand out from the existing competition? Once you figure out what you want to do then you can work on pricing.

Coming from the tech side of the business and going into sales I know what you are up against, it is a whole different world on this side of the fence. If it was me I would hire a consultant to help you get an MIS system setup and help with pricing so you can keep your doors open.