Smartstream guidance appreciated...

Popsy82

Hello

I am a complete newbie to SmartStream...I've managed to apply rules to make paras appear where necessary, but cannot figure out how to include a merge field in a conditional para - I've tried many routes, but only get the para to appear, followed by the name of the rule which contains the merge field, rather than the cell contents. Any help would be appreciated!

Popsy82

Would love to help, but cannot figure out what do you mean under the "para" term? Can you give an example what do you want to achieve?

sorry - 'para' is me referring to the conditional paragraphs which I need to appear. I have seven of them in total, and two of those need a field at the end which contains numbers. I can make the rules work for the text (the paragraphs themselves), but not the numerical part. I've tried all sorts with the CSV file, but to no avail.

Any help would be very much appreciated!

As an example, here is some dummy text (I can't show you what I'm working on, data protection, etc etc). Say this is one of my paragraphs:

Thank you for joining Blue Skies Bank. Your credit limit is £1,000.

I can get the text 'Thank you...' etc to work, but where £1,000 is a variable amount taken from an Excel sheet (saved as a CSV) I can't get it to work. I only get the text part.

Any thoughts?

It seems to me the output should look like <thank you rule 1> £<credit limit csv header>.
<rule> seems like is working
<credit limit csv header> - should be entered by clicking on respective field in the Smartstream's Data Fields window.
The problem may exist anywhere here (it still hard to troubleshoot).
Did you load/re-load database after name of the header (1st row in excel spreadsheet) changed?
Do you see the desired value when you 'Preview' output in the Preview window?