Spot UV (aka Varnish, Gloss)

Fictitious

I am a student at a university and am working on one of my senior studio projects, which is packaging design. I would like spot gloss on my package, but cannot find anyone to do this! I have scoured the web and local print shops, but none are willing to do about three prints with the spot UV.

I have considered manually brushing the varnish on, but this would appear sloppy and tacky. I simply cannot show something so shoddy in my senior show!

Can anyone help?

Thanks,
Fictitious

(By the way...not sure if I stuck this thread in the right spot?)

Oh, I just had an idea. Screen printing! (Silk Screening). We have the equipment, but is there a clear "varnish" screen printing ink?

Last edited:
Easy Help here. Only 3 prints needed? If so, we'll get out the old trusty brayer. I would imagine that you can brayerly believe that it is that easy. Can arrange, no cost. D

Spot gloss varnish is not what you're looking for. Chances are you won't get the contrast that you're trying to achieve. What I'd recommend you do is use a gloss UV coating and silk screen it. You'll have a very high gloss level. Call some print shops that have UV capabilities and see if they'd be willing to sell you a little bit. I will emphasize this - do not call it a varnish since coating and varnish are two different animals.

In case you don't know what gloss UV coating is, it's the coating used on printed materials to create that slick glossy finish. Make sure to cure it properly (pass it through the UV lights a few times if necessary) since it will never dry on its own and will smudge if not dry.

?ThePrinter?, you think a printer, UV silk screener would entertain this idea for "3" prints? Ficticious might use his life savings in phone call charges to find someone that would help him out. Just a practical thought here. D