Starting a shop for political printing

bsnell

Greetings all,

This will get a little long and I apologize, but I should probably tell you what I'm doing before I ask questions.

I'm a political campaign consultant. I have run non-profits and campaign committees/PACs for many years, and have helped scores of people get elected. As you'd all no doubt guess, one of my greatest expenditures is always printing, mail, and silk screened/vinyl signage. I'd like to take control of that expenditure and minimize it or even turn it into a profit center by establishing a printing operation targeted toward political needs. At this point I'm friends with so many electeds and future candidates that I can hit the ground running right out of the gate; I've already had several tell me they'd give me their business if I go through with this.

I've worked with and been in a dozen print shops over the years and can tell you what each machine does by looking at it, however I'm completely ignorant of the details or specific brands and models, and what would be a good purchase for starting a shop of my own. So while I know what I'm getting into, I also know there's far more I don't know.

For the sake of being thorough here's a brief list of more or less what I need to produce (I'm leaving the silk screened and vinyl products out):
  • Stuff on card stock with UV coating (business cards, post cards, palm cards, door hangers, etc.)
  • Bulk single and double fold and tabbed mailers
  • Bulk mail with inserts in #10 envelopes
I assume that a digital press is the way to go, over the old school offset presses which seem like a comparative pain in the backside. With a post-printing UV coating process, I'm unsure whether or not an inkjet press like an HP Indigo or a toner press like the Konica AccurioPress is the way to go. As for the rest of it, this is what I think I need:
  • Digital press
  • UV coater
  • Slitter/cutter/creaser
  • Stack cutter
  • Folder
  • Tabber
  • Envelope printer