tired of brokering envelopes-is Xante the answer

ondemandbindery

Hi all. The envelope seems to be the great barrier for the digital market. I have been brokering printing for the last 4 months since the Bindery side of my business has really fallen off and quite honestly I need a resolution for printing simple 2 color envelopes. I have tried to read as much info as I can find about the Xante and the PSI units but there seems to be a recurring theme that these machines are not profitable. I have absolutely no interest in offset as I consider it Analog Printing and it is just not the vision of where I want to go. My run lengths are in the 2500-5000 range and can range from 1 to 3 color so this work is truly cookie cutter basic stationary work. Any input, ideas, or experience would be greatly appreciated and thank you ahead of time.

Can you be more specific as to why these machines are said to be not profitable? Why is it not a simple matter of adjusting the selling price?

Historically printing on folded stock has always been a challenge for printers equipped with presses intended for printing on flat sheets. Dedicated specialty machines on the other hand are extremely productive.

Al

not super familiar with the Xante machine, but I'd imagine your run lengths would be on the high side for the xante machine.

I know you don't want to print offset, but you run lengths might still require a traditional offset process.