Toner based machines and contact lens wearers.

jinthebay

Currently running a Ricoh C901. It's a heavy production model that's toner based and situated in a room with less than adequate ventilation. I've been wearing contact lens comfortably for many years without incident considering that I've worked in the printing industry for most of my adult life.
Question is; Is there anyone out there running a machine like this that is experiencing some discomfort in wearing your contact lenses? Dryness? Irritation? I'm not sure if it's just the time of the year or the recent cold spell we have felt in this part of the country (west central Florida).
I am not inclined to start wearing my glasses as I have trouble with my peripheral vision. I wear extended wear lenses and was always able to get at least two weeks out of them. Now it seems like one week is a stretch.

Just curious.

I run a Xerox color 1000, canon c6000, and two KM B+W 1200's and wear contacts full time except on the weekends - No problems here. I wear 2 week daily lenses and usually get a month or more out of them. I disinfect with Clear Care every night.

Thanks PrintIT,

Yeah, I use clear care as well. Since I've been running this machine (about 2 months now) I've noticed this extra sensitivity from wearing my lenses. I'm just trying to establish wether it's the machine, the room's condition or maybe just me getting older. Never felt this before from running an Indigo for over 5 years.

Don't have a way to accurately measure it. It feels pretty dry though. A co-worker recently said that he could see a haze in the air after the machine had been running for a while. We turned the fan to the a/c unit on to help circulate the air a bit and I think it helps but I kinda feel like it's a combination of toner vapour, paper dust and ozone, lingering in the air that's bothering my eyes, (and not allergies, from which I've never suffered from before). I'm just wondering if anyone else has experienced similar symptoms.