What are the key ideas for achieving greater efficiency in prepress?

J

Hi,

What are the key ideas that printshops should embrace for achieving greater efficiency in prepress? Maybe some common, continuing, obstacles you have encountered and have solved?

Regards, J

J,
I am no expert, but have been in the prepress industry for almost 30 years. The most important thing I notice that people always forget is COMMUNICATION, imao.
When there are new projects starting, have a meeting with everybody! Even if they will never touch it. Keep all in the loop all the time; and make sure everyone is always on the same page. Have meetings for everything that possibly makes sense; and open things up for questions. Bring donuts. Make all feel equally informed. That is my best advice.
Best of Luck!
Peace to the PrintPlanet!!
_mjnc

Hey J

For us it is information. The more proper info we have on the docket the easier our job is. This begins with the production planning department if they take the time and get it right then the steps after usually work better (prepress.. etc). As well you may want to look how prepress is organized, how you work with files and making sure each operator is working the same way. This is pretty standard stuff now.

Having good files from clients is also a bonus. Luckily most of our clients do have good files so we can prep them with minimal effort.

Computer hardware makes a different as well, bigger is better to crunch, open, flatten all those multi layers/effects photoshop wonder files from designers, placed into everything.

Automation - for us is no use. We don't have dailies, weekly, or monthly repeat jobs. Most of our jobs require some human intervention. We are short run sheefeed shop.

You could look into JDF stuff, but then again if you don't have your info nailed down this becomes a bottleneck.

Goodluck!

I agree with all above, Information, Communication, Automation, somewhat in that order.